How do I view multiple users on a real-world map in real time? (MMO)

0 votes
Hey everyone!

I am new to AppWarp, so the more detailed/basic the answer, the better :)

I'm currently trying to develop an iOS app in Swift with XCode (although I would also like to eventually have it on Android, so potentially I should be using something like Unity or Corona... anyway...)

I am looking for a way for users of the app to be able to view everyone else in that "room" (georegion) on a real world map (using Google not Apple maps) in real-time (like an MMO). I understand the concept of multicasting/broadcasting and interest management. The most basic functionality I came up with is every 5 seconds each user sends a message to the server with their lat/long co-ords. The server compiles this into a single chunk of text with all N locations and broadcasts this to every user's device in which the device places/updates the markers on a map.

There could potentially be other stationary non-user objects that also need to be updated too.

I understand this is a very crude/basic model, but at the moment I haven't got any other ideas.

Pretend it's like a soccer game, where the idea of the app is for everyone to have a birds eye view of the field in which they can see every other player's location in real time. (Updated every 2-5 seconds depending on server capabilities). Plus the ball of course.

What I'm confused about is how to implement this using AppWarp. I read the MMO Interest Management guide, but given it is written in Java, I am unsure how to implement this in iOS using Swift.

Right now I would be looking at the Indie FreePlan, so I would be initially limited to 2 million messages per month (hence the update frequency limit), but this is definitely something that could progress into one of the paid plans.

Tl;dr? Basically - how does agar.io do it?

Any suggestions/ideas would be awesome. Thank you in advance!
asked Sep 17, 2015 in AppWarp by swimsurfrhys (10 points)